
wkover |

I'm playing Mother Myrtle in Season 6, and I'm trying to get her bugs/warts worked out before starting. This isn't necessarily easy, since she's been revised in the Conversion Guide and may have a mix of pre-Core boons (Alchemist's Fire, pre-Core spells, etc.) and post-Core boons (Noxious Bomb, Acid Flask, post-Core spells, etc.) in her deck.
Anyway, this post is about spells. As background, this is the new Mother Myrtle:
New proficiencies: Alchemical, Arcane, Divine, and Liquid
Revised powers:
You may use your Wisdom skill (▢ +1d4) for your Arcane (▢ or Divine) check.
When you attempt to recover an Alchemical or Liquid boon, you may instead attempt a Knowledge check with a difficulty of 7 plus the card's level. If you succeed, recharge it (▢ or shuffle it into your deck); if you fail, discard it.
My main question: Under the Core rules, does Mother Myrtle banish pre-Core spells?
The issue is that post-Core spells have a different template than pre-Core spells. For recovery, post-Core spells say "If proficient..." and pre-Core spells say "If you do not have the Arcane/Divine skill..."
Myrtle is now proficient in arcane and divine, but she doesn't have the arcane or divine skills.
The Conversion Guide explicitly gives an example with Lightning Touch that shows that the old wording on pre-Core spells (referring to skills, not proficiencies) is maintained under the new Recovery rules.
As written, it would appear that Mother Myrtle banishes pre-Core spells, regardless of her proficiencies. Just checking to see whether this is intended, as I'd hate for her Cure spells to banish mid-game. :)

Keith Richmond Lone Shark Games |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

That Lightning Touch example is at odds with the very next line:
"On all spells except those noted below, replace the first “discard“ or “reveal” with “banish” or leave the first “display” alone, then change any kind of discard and/or recharge text to “DURING RECOVERY If proficient, discard this card; you may succeed at (whatever specific check is listed) to recharge it instead.”

Keith Richmond Lone Shark Games |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The conversion guidelines went through a few iterations of folks after they left my hands (among other things because I was unfortunately entirely indisposed by outside events when it was being launched), so I hesitate to declare anything as incorrect. As always, Vic (and then Mike) are the arbiters of the rule, and I'm just the guy who gets to chat on the forums without nearly as much agonizing over precise language.
But I can say that it is intended that Mother Myrtle has a way to not banish pre-Core spells that would normally be able to be not banished (but not, say recharge Charm Person, Commune, Time Stop, or most blessings, like before conversion).

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I have rewritten the entry on spell recovery, including a full example.