Please settle a Starship Combat debate for my table.


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does the target need to be within the tracking weapons firing arc when first fired upon?
-Beta


I would say so, as otherwise they'd have to turn and go through the firing ship, which doesn't sound like the most reasonable thing.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes.

You can't fire on a target that isn't in the arc of the weapon in question.

Core Rule book page 320: "The attacking starship can fire a weapon against only ships in the same arc as that weapon;"

This is black-and-white rules so I'm not sure why there's confusion. That same page then goes on to talk about making the attack against AC or TL (which makes it pretty clear it's the same). Now once fired, the subsequent tracking checks to move towards the target do not have any facing requirements.


Yes

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Please settle a Starship Combat debate for my table. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions