Silence Spell


Rules Questions


Have a question that came up about the use of the Silence Spell. The spell is thrown on a creature, object or point in space. the 20' radius area of effect around this point has no sound, no conversation possible and spells with verbal components do not work. It also says that An unwilling creature can attempt a will save to negate the spell.

The player in question caste the spell on his cohort, a pet dog, and announced that the dog would be willing and not have to roll against the spell. But then they argued that any creature around the dog has no such save, they are simply in that area of silence and get no will save.

Now, to me that seems awfully powerful. Its an area of effect. Shouldn't any creature in that 20 ft radius get the same saving throw, not just the creature at the center? Is that right?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nope. You get a save to avoid having the spell attached to you, not to avoid being silenced.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The player is correct, only the recipient of the spell gets a save. Creatures in the area of that spell (whether on another creature, an object, or a point in space) do not get a save.

Silence is a very effective spell for shutting down verbal spells but it takes a full round to cast it and the radius usually can be avoided by walking out of it and then casting your desired spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Silence Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions