Haunts - I don't understand how they work


Rules Questions


Hi,
I am running an adventure path with haunts and I am still not sure how they work after reading both online and in the books.

et's assume I have a haunt with Will save 16, Perception 20 to notice a sparkling watering can, that is triggered by touching a chair. Failed will save results in a wish to water the plants. If he PC is hindered, he attacks the nearest.

I have a party of PC A, B and C. They are all in the room. B touches the chair. They all roll initiative. Suprise round triggers.
A - 21
C - 11
Haunt - 10
B - 9.

When does B roll the Will save? At 9 or at 10? Or as soon as he touches the chair? When does B try to do the "water plants" - at 9 or at 10? What about if B has initiative higher than 10?

Could you please draw both scenarios out for me?
Thanks!


Quote:
When does B roll the Will save?

That's up to you--it's your haunt. Generally, haunts that provoke saving throws do so either when they manifest (initiative 10) or some time into the manifestation (later, possibly even rounds later). From your description, I'd assume initiative 10.

Quote:
When does B try to do the "water plants" - at 9 or at 10?

When B is first able to act after failing the saving throw--initiative 9.

Quote:
What about if B has initiative higher than 10?

When B is first able to act after failing the saving throw--probably on the next round as B has already used his action for the surprise round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Haunts - I don't understand how they work All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions