Double-Chained Kama & Weapon Finesse


Rules Questions


Long story short, I'm making a character for a campaign, and I'm looking to make a Ninja wielding double-chained kama (yes I was inspired by For Honor, sue me). The question I have here is if the double-chained kama would qualify for weapon finesse.

The double-chained kama is by default a two-handed weapon, but it's also a double weapon consisting of two kamas (light weapons) connected by an eight foot chain. What's more, this tidbit from the creating new weapons section:

"Finesse (3 DP): The weapon can be used with Weapon Finesse as if it were a light weapon. Only one-handed and exotic melee weapons can have this quality."

Note that it mentions exotics in their entirety, not whether they're light/one-handed/two-handed. But I admit, all of this is basically a bunch of semantics and details. Does anyone have a concrete answer to the question of whether or not the double-chained kama would qualify for the weapon finesse feat?

Grand Lodge

Because of the wording of it, both yes & no.
When you use 1 kama in each hand, yes, because it says clearly 'as if armed with a single kama in each hand'.
However, when you use one to make a reach attack, this not longer applies & it is now the 'Dual-Chained Kama' so you not be able to use Weapon Finesse when attacking in that manner.

TL;DR
Using as Double Weapon = Yes
Using as Reach Weapom = No

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double-Chained Kama & Weapon Finesse All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions