| Tommysword |
I have the following question: Under the rules for handle animal it states that use of the skill is a move action unless you are a Druid or a Ranger. Does this mean that other classes with the animal companion feature such as the Hunter or a Lunar Oracle with primal companion have to use a move action to have their companions perform a trick that they know?
| Fuzzy-Wuzzy |
Such classes (and other means of getting an A/C) should all have a line like
This ability functions like the druid animal companion ability (which is part of the nature bond class feature).
So they inherit the druid's animal companion table, including the 1st-level "link" feature, which states
Link (Ex): A druid can handle her animal companion as a free action, or push it as a move action, even if she doesn't have any ranks in the Handle Animal skill. The druid gains a +4 circumstance bonus on all wild empathy checks and Handle Animal checks made regarding an animal companion.
So, basically, if you have an A/C you can handle it for free.
| SorrySleeping |
Hunter's and Lunar's Oracle animal companion state they work exactly like the Druid's animal companion.
The rules for animal companions was likely made when only the Druid and Ranger had them, and the paladin's (that also calls out working like the Druid's but having an int of 6 to bypass a lot of things). So most things reference Animal Companions working like the Druid's or Ranger's.