Atavism Template Duration


Rules Questions


The Atavism spell reads:

Quote:
The animal immediately gains the advanced creature simple template. It gains a +2 bonus on all rolls, including damage rolls and special ability DCs, a +4 bonus to AC and CMD, and +2 hit points per HD. The animal's primal instincts take hold for the duration of this spell—if the animal knows tricks granted by the Handle Animal skill, it loses access to all of those tricks save for "attack."

It is ambiguous to me whether the template is lost when the spell expires, or if the duration only applies the restriction on Handle Animal. I imagine it's the former, but wanted to confirm.


Gaining the template is a function of the spell, and lasts as long as the spell does.

I don't know of any spell that grants a permanent ability without spelling it out unambiguously (usually by having a duration of instantaneous).


Agreed. The spell has a duration, and the effects expire when the duration does.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Atavism Template Duration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions