Xiphose
|
Summon Monster 2 can summon 1d4+1 Summon Monster 1 creatures.
If I were to cast Summon Monster 3, it states I can summon 1d4+1 Summon Monster 2 Creatures.
Could I do Summon Monster 3 and summon 1d4+1's worth of 1d4+1 Summon Monster 1 creatures?
I know this might make combat a bit sluggish, however logically thinking if the 2nd level cast can summon (avg 3) Summon Monster 1 creatures and Summon Monster 3 can summon (avg 3) Summon monster 2 creatures I think the rate of transfer should stay the same.
Yes it's a lot of dice, Yes it's impractical and Yes it's sorta meta breaking and I will never be sharing this with my pcs.
However, how would you rule this assuming it would never be used against you?
(I think if my math is right if the average roll is 3 then the amount of cr 1 dogs would equal 3^8 = 6651 and I mean 1 Ice Devil vs 6651 Dogs is about the same CR right? right?...)
| Bob Bob Bob |
Step 1: Actually read the thing you're talking about.
This spell functions like summon monster I, except that you can summon one creature from the 2nd-level list or 1d3 creatures of the same kind from the 1st-level list.You get 1 from the 2nd level list or 1d3 from the 1st level list. It does not "summon 1d4+1 summon monster I creatures". Higher level versions are the same.
This spell functions like summon monster I, except that you can summon one creature from the 4th-level list, 1d3 creatures of the same kind from the 3rd-level list, or 1d4+1 creatures of the same kind from a lower-level list.
It does not "summon 1d4+1 summon monster II summons", it "summons 1d4+1 monsters from a list lower than 3rd level". It doesn't matter if you blow a Summon Monster IX on Dolphins, you only get 1d4+1.