Strong Jaw-What does it effect?


Rules Questions


The strong jaw spell states: Laying a hand upon an allied creature’s jaw, claws, tentacles, or other natural weapons, you enhance the power of that creature’s natural attacks. Each natural attack that creature makes deals damage as if the creature were two sizes larger than it actually is. If the creature is already Gargantuan or Colossal-sized, double the amount of damage dealt by each of its natural attacks instead. This spell does not actually change the creature’s size; all of its statistics except the amount of damage dealt by its natural attacks remain unchanged.
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/strong-jaw/

What confuses me is the "or" in the first sentence, does that mean it effects one type?, cause the rest of the spell seems to imply that ALL natural attacks are enchanced.


Strong jaw affects all of a creature's natural attacks.


As written, you need to touch one natural weapon, and then all of the allies natural weapons gain the benefit. That means a Druid couldn't RAW cast it upon himself before wildshaping.

Of course, the first sentence is actually useless filler, because Paizo people apparantly think that filling rules documents with distracting pseudo-flavorful text is somehow a good thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Strong Jaw-What does it effect? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions