| Dan_Dare74 |
Hi
The answer to this is probably right under my nose, but my players and I couldn't find it while searching the rule book.
We were playing through the Skreesire encounter in the Shattered worlds module, when it grabbed one of the players, it had left its pool of acid at this point to engage the players.
What are the rules for it being able to take the grabbed character back to the acid pool?
I ruled it to be a roll to maintain the grapple at the beginning of its turn and then half movement, but couldn't find any official rule
| Pantshandshake |
I think this is what you want:
Reposition
You change the target’s position to a different location still within your reach and within 5 feet of its original placement. You can move the target 5 additional feet for every 5 by which the result of your attack roll exceeds the target’s KAC + 8, but all movement must remain within your reach. You cannot move the target past an obstacle.
If you reposition a creature as a full action, you can move a distance equal to the distance you repositioned your target (up to your move speed), dragging the target along with you
| Dan_Dare74 |
Thanks for that.
We did look at the reposition role, but it seemed overly difficult, firstly the creature has to grab (vs KAC +4) then it has to maintain this (which I believe is a standard action) so then if it could reposition (standard or full action) it would need to roll KAC +8
while I can sort of see this, it all seems rather difficult and finicky for a creature that specialises in grabbing and pulling things
or do you forgo the second grapple attempt and move straight to reposition?
| Pantshandshake |
Reposition is just a combat maneuver, and doesn't make any reference to being or having a target grappled.
You may (or may not) have noticed other forum posts indicating that PC characters also have a difficult time with combat maneuvers. This is a Starfinder thing, it's harder than it was in Pathfinder.