Caster Level for Using Wondrous Items


Rules Questions


When using a Wondrous Item, what is the Caster Level?

For example...
If I have a Cloak of the Hedge Wizard (Necromancy), and attempt to cast Ray of Enfeeblement using the cloak. it says:
"The subject takes a penalty to Strength equal to 1d6+1 per two caster levels (maximum 1d6+5)."

If I am a non-spellcasting class (such as a Rogue), is my caster level 0 for the purpose of this spell? Can I essentially not use this ability of the cloak at all? Or is the caster level just equal to my Rogue level? Or is it based on the caster level of the person who made the cloak? Or is it something else completely?

And is this the same for non-Wondrous Items, such as magical rings? A ring example would be Ring of Elemental Command (Air) using Chain Lightning:
"The bolt deals 1d6 points of electricity damage per caster level (maximum 20d6) to the primary target."

Secondary Question:
Is the Use Magic Device skill relevant for Wondrous Items? Or does it only apply to things like wands, scrolls, etc. Does it apply to magical rings?

Thanks for any insight on this!


The Wondrous Item lists the Caster Level (CL) in the write-up of the item.
Eg: Cloak of the Hedge Wizard has a CL of 1st level.
The Caster Level is based on the creator of the item, and it could be different than what the items lists if your GM says it is, but that will change the value based on the Magic Item Creation Rules.

Rings are Wondrous Items so they follow the same rules. Scrolls and wands are assumed to have been made at the lowest level required (but again, your GM may have changed the level of the person that created the item).

Use Magic Device is not required to use a Wondrous Item unless there's specific cases where the item may require it.


Thank you! That pretty much explains everything!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Caster Level for Using Wondrous Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions