Longreach weapons & attacks of opportunity


Rules Questions


Would someone mind looking over these four scenarios & telling me which ones provoke an attack of opportunity, & which don't? Thanks in advance.

The setting is, a PC is wielding a weapon that has a long reach, say a spear. He can use it to attack anyone 10 feet away, but not 15 or 5 feet away. Then there's an enemy, lets just call it a goblin.

1. The goblin is standing 10 feet from the PC, in the "Threatened Area" of the PC's spear, he takes a 5-foot step to be standing within 5 feet from the PC, then attacks the PC.

2. The goblin is standing 15 feet away, he then takes a 5-foot step so that he is now standing in the "Threatened Area" of the PC's spear, he ends his turn.

3. The goblin is standing 20 feet away, then runs up to the PC so that he's 5 feet away, moving through the "Threatened Area," then attacks.

4. The goblin is standing 5 feet from the PC, he then takes a 5-foot step away from the PC & ends his turn in the threatened area.

Am I right in saying only scenario #3 provokes an attack of opportunity? Keep in mind that this spear cannot attack someone who is 5 feet away, only 10 feet, does that change anything?


1. No. 5-ft steps do no provoke.
2. See 1.
3. Yes. Goblin moved through threatened square.
4. No. See 1.


A spear doesn't have reach. A longspear does.

1: 5 foot steps do not provoke.
2: 5 foot steps do not provoke. Moving into a threatened area does not provoke.
3: This provokes since the goblin is leaving a threatened square.
4: 5 foot steps do not provoke.


Wow, thanks for the clear & quick responses, guys.

I thought it would be like this but just wanted to confirm. Cheers.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Longreach weapons & attacks of opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.