Twin linked point, broadside broad arcs and tracking weapons


Rules Questions


The more I go over the ship builders the more I am enjoying it... but some of it confuses me.

Can twin linked point weapons only intercept one tracking weapon per turn or are they separate enough to allow both attempts?

If you twin link tracking weapons do they count as one or two missiles for point weapons to intercept?

When using tracking weapons, do you carry over all modifiers in subsequent tracking rolls? Is this an action for the gunners or a free check? (Ie, broadside or fire at will to launch a bunch of missiles at long range, in the following turn do the surviving missiles still have a penalty from the launch type? The rules make it sound as if only current modifiers would apply. Otherwise can an opponent stack improve countermeasure penalties to continuously degrade tracking weapons?)

If broad arc weapons can fire into an arc, can those be used as part of a broadside from that arc, albeit with a -6 to their shots? Turrets are in and these function as limited turrets enough to make me wonder.


By RAW, linked weapons fire as one. Linked point weapons still fire as one. Thus, a linked pair of point weapons cannot shoot down two missiles in one round.

Only direct-fire weapons can be linked.

It's slightly unclear, but my suspicion is that penalties such as that from Broadside should not apply to tracking weapons beyond the initial shot. Countermeasures only last for one round, so there's no stacking that action, but the rules do indicate that using Improve Countermeasures will affect already-fired projectiles. In any event, it merely says to make an additional gunnery check for projectiles in transit without ascribing any action to it, so it's a free check.

Broad arc weapons can fire into other arcs, but are not mounted in those other arcs. By RAW, no.


On every round after the first, a tracking weapon's attack bonus resets to the attack bonus of the gunner that fired it. Any penalties such as Improved Countermeasures only apply for that round and then reset at the start of the next turn.


Fuzzypaws wrote:
On every round after the first, a tracking weapon's attack bonus resets to the attack bonus of the gunner that fired it. Any penalties such as Improved Countermeasures only apply for that round and then reset at the start of the next turn.

Resets to base runner's check or does it carry forward captain and science officer bonuses or penalties from the launch round? Basically, reset to base or modified attack bonus? If a science officer gets a lock on an enemy in the second round, would that apply to missiles already in the air?

Liberty's Edge

The bonuses/penalties from Captain and Science Officer only apply in the round that they were added so no, a missile trying to re-target would not get those modifiers. A Captain could not aid/encourage/intimidate a missile that is trying to re-target.

As for a Lock On, I believe that bonus would apply if the Science Officer applied it in the round that the missile was trying to re-target. I also think Target System would apply as well.


Gary Bush wrote:

The bonuses/penalties from Captain and Science Officer only apply in the round that they were added so no, a missile trying to re-target would not get those modifiers. A Captain could not aid/encourage/intimidate a missile that is trying to re-target.

As for a Lock On, I believe that bonus would apply if the Science Officer applied it in the round that the missile was trying to re-target. I also think Target System would apply as well.

Target systems is more of a debuff than a weapon boost.

I get what you are saying about science officer vs captain actions but that's just real world opinions, in game if the captain's orders aren't mind effects than they actually can intimidate missiles into being more missile-y. I can see it as an all apply or a none apply but not a selectively some boost missiles, others dont.


Torbyne wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:

The bonuses/penalties from Captain and Science Officer only apply in the round that they were added so no, a missile trying to re-target would not get those modifiers. A Captain could not aid/encourage/intimidate a missile that is trying to re-target.

As for a Lock On, I believe that bonus would apply if the Science Officer applied it in the round that the missile was trying to re-target. I also think Target System would apply as well.

Target systems is more of a debuff than a weapon boost.

I get what you are saying about science officer vs captain actions but that's just real world opinions, in game if the captain's orders aren't mind effects than they actually can intimidate missiles into being more missile-y. I can see it as an all apply or a none apply but not a selectively some boost missiles, others dont.

The captain isn't selectively boosting some missiles and not others. They are boosting the gunner who is firing the missile. And that actually does give a bonus... on the first round, when the missile is fired.

However, if the missile doesn't have enough speed to reach the target in that first round, then on subsequent turns the missile's attack rolls normalize. It doesn't get any bonuses or penalties that may be given to the ship's gunner that turn, because the gunner doesn't have remote control of the missile; it's independent. It recalculates range and any applicable penalties from its now current position to the target's now current position. A science officer on the target ship can still use Improved Countermeasures and that WILL affect the independent missile, along with any new missiles, because Improved Countermeasures is basically a buff to the defending ship rather than a debuff to the opposing gunner.

If there was a special type of missile (which I imagine we'll actually see in a book eventually) where the gunner does retain remote control, then yes, the captain could keep boosting that missile every round. However, the tradeoff for that would undoubtedly be the gunner using their turn to continue to control that one missile, instead of just firing more missiles. Since a missile is independent, the advantage is you can keep firing weapons in subsequent turns; that just comes with the price of losing direct control of the previously fired weapon.

Hopefully that helps it make more sense :)


That does make a lot more sense, just carry forward the base attack modifier from the original roller. Nice and simple to follow too.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Twin linked point, broadside broad arcs and tracking weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions