| kikai |
Hi,
I am super excited about the game and my gaming group loves it! However, two rules questions came up:
(1) If you defeat the (final) vilain and he can't escape - do you win immediately, or do you have to finish your turn, reset your hand and potentially die, when you don't have enough cards? So the party wins and your character is dead?
(2) When you play the adventures - do you always add the new cards to the box and play with the whole set? Or do you start taking out cards at a certain point? E.g. if you play the second adventure, do the cards from the first adventure remain in the box?
Thanks and best,
kikai
| Hawkmoon269 |
Hi,
I am super excited about the game and my gaming group loves it!
Awesome.
(1) If you defeat the (final) vilain and he can't escape - do you win immediately, or do you have to finish your turn, reset your hand and potentially die, when you don't have enough cards? So the party wins and your character is dead?
I'm the "standard" scenario, you win as soon as the villain can't escape. No need to finish the turn.
(2) When you play the adventures - do you always add the new cards to the box and play with the whole set? Or do you start taking out cards at a certain point? E.g. if you play the second adventure, do the cards from the first adventure remain in the box?
You just keep adding. The adventure path card has rules for when to start removing cards. It starts in Adventure 3. It is based on traits, not deck numbers.
Hope that helps. Good luck on your adventure.
| Irgy |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
kikai wrote:Hi,
I am super excited about the game and my gaming group loves it!
Awesome.
kikai wrote:(1) If you defeat the (final) vilain and he can't escape - do you win immediately, or do you have to finish your turn, reset your hand and potentially die, when you don't have enough cards? So the party wins and your character is dead?I'm the "standard" scenario, you win as soon as the villain can't escape. No need to finish the turn.
kikai wrote:(2) When you play the adventures - do you always add the new cards to the box and play with the whole set? Or do you start taking out cards at a certain point? E.g. if you play the second adventure, do the cards from the first adventure remain in the box?You just keep adding. The adventure path card has rules for when to start removing cards. It starts in Adventure 3. It is based on traits, not deck numbers.
Hope that helps. Good luck on your adventure.
Just to expand on Hawkmoon's fine answer, you don't finish the turn, but you do finish the encounter, including closing the location the villain is in. Sometimes the "when permanently closed" power on the location gives you a card or something, which is good. In some rare cases the "when permanently closed" power could also kill you or cause you to lose the scenario.
The most common difference is the way it interacts with the removing cards rule which Hawkmoon also mentions. When you're packing up, the cards in the location the villain came from are "banished" by closing the villain's location, so the basics/elites there can potentially get removed from the game, while the other (presumably temp-closed) locations cards are not banished and all go back in the box basic or not.
But yes you don't finish the rest of the turn, including not resetting your hand, so feel free to fight the villain with an empty hand and deck and set yourself up to either win the game or die depending on the dice roll. Done it a few times myself, no better way to finish.