Automatic success with ssves


Rules Questions


So I know about the natural 20 and natural 1 thing with automatic successes and failures but what if your bonus to a particular save is higher than the total DC for example you have a +16 to your fort save but the Disease DC is 12 is that considered an automatic success? As if you didn’t need to roll anyway?


It doesn't matter what your save modifier is, a natural 20 will always make the save and a natural 1 will always fail it.


All right thanks I wasn’t sure if there was a ruling on that or not.


There is, you can find the text in the CRB:

Combat chapter, p. 180 wrote:
A natural 1 (the d20 comes up 1) on a saving throw is always a failure (and may cause damage to exposed items; see Items Surviving after a Saving Throw on page 217). A natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20) is always a success.

Hope that helps. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Automatic success with ssves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions