Do Characters Roll Separately for Damage?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


With two scenarios left in Mummy's Mask, I've almost made a complete run of the box sets and am getting ready to start a new round of them. But before that, I want to get something clarified that I've just punted on before.

Mummy's Mask has a lot of banes that will do something like All Characters at this Location take 1d4 damage.

Now, I've played that as each character rolls the damage. Drelm and Zadim are both hit with an effect- Drelm rolls the d4 and ends up taking 3 damage which he can figure out how to resist. Then Zadim rolls a 1 and that's all the day damage he's taking.

But I wonder if it should be Drelm rolls the damage, and his 3 is applied to everyone affected.

Rolling once means everyone is affected the same way. Each character rolling, there's a chance that someone ends up luckier than the other.


The designers have stated in the past that they aren't prescribing one method or the other, leaving it up to players to decide how they're going to do it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Brother Tyler wrote:
The designers have stated in the past that they aren't prescribing one method or the other, leaving it up to players to decide how they're going to do it.

Do you have a reference for that? Because in this thread it seems the answer is given quite unequivocally as everyone rolls separately.

And for that matter the reference to the rulebook checks out as well (it's in the "rolling dice" sidebar on page ~6).


Irgy is right in this time.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

+1 Irgy & Hannibal.

Bringing the rulebook quote to this thread so viewers don't have to chase it:

MM rulebook p.12 Rolling Dice sicebar wrote:
If a card calls for a die roll that affects multiple characters or situations (for example, if it says that each character at a location is dealt 1d4 damage), roll separately for each.


elcoderdude wrote:

+1 Irgy & Hannibal.

Bringing the rulebook quote to this thread so viewers don't have to chase it:

MM rulebook p.12 Rolling Dice sicebar wrote:
If a card calls for a die roll that affects multiple characters or situations (for example, if it says that each character at a location is dealt 1d4 damage), roll separately for each.

Argh! I just looked over the rules before I posted, but skipped the sidebars.

At least we've been doing it right. Thanks for the quick responses!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Do Characters Roll Separately for Damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion