Monks and touch effects


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hey! I was looking into designing and encounter and came across the Shae. With a monk in the party I wanted to clarify something before I may or may not severely nerf him in said encounter(s). The Shae cold ability goes as follows

A shae’s touch saps heat from living creatures, leaving patches of colorless flesh rather than physical wounds. A shae can deal 1d6 points of cold damage with a touch. It adds +1d6 points of cold damage to any melee weapon damage it deals.

Does this only apply if the shae chooses to touch with, say, a hand or would anyone touching them (say, through an unarmed strike) also be affected by this?


Unless otherwise noted, abilities like this only work as offensive abilities. A monk could use their unarmed strikes just fine against the shae. Compare it to the spell fire shield which notes that foes hitting the caster take damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monks and touch effects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions