Mage Armor Question


Rules Questions


If an Inchained Rogue has Boneless Armor
and a Wizard casts Mage Armor,
Will the Rogue get the +4.... or just a +1?
The magic armor already gives him a magical +3...

I'm being told he only gets the Plus 1 because he already has a magical
Plus 3.

Ideas or thoughts?


Just +1

+1 leather armor has an armor bonus of +3

Mage armor has an armor bonus of +4

Armor bonuses do not stack. Armor is the ur example of bonus types not stacking. You can only use the bigger one.

Liberty's Edge

Bonuses of the same type do not usually stack. Armor Bonuses certainly do not.

So you can only use whichever is higher, the +3 or the +4. So yes, the net change is only a +1.


Ok would I get the full bonus of the shield spell?
Since that gives a shield spell bonus of +4?

And would the +1 Mage Armor stack with shield?


If you're under the effects of two spells or equipment that give the same type of bonus, they do not stack unless a special rule says that they do (e.g. the general rule that dodge bonuses always stack with other dodge bonuses). On the other hand, different types of bonuses do stack, unless a special rule says otherwise. So shield gives a shield bonus, and mage armor and leather armor both give armor bonuses. Shield and armor bonuses, being different types, stack. Maximizing AC in pathfinder is all about finding as many different types of armor bonuses that you can stack together, for the least amount of gp each.


Remember that Shield is a Personal spell so the wizard can't cast it on you. You could get it from Use Magic Device and a wand, or Major Magic talent, or a Cloak of the Hedge Wizard.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mage Armor Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.