Fabricate Arms rules


Rules Questions


There's a sentence in the Fabricate Arms rules that I'm not sure I understand. It says "treat this as a spell of the same level as the expended spell slot." What exactly does this mean? I have some guesses, but am not sure I'm reading it right.

It also says this in the description of Fabricate Tech, but that's a Spell-Like Ability as opposed to Supernatural so I think it refers to the rules for dispelling or resisting summoned items. Is Fabricate Arms supposed to be Spell-Like as opposed to Supernatural?


I also found it puzzling and I can't think of a possible rules interaction.


For a brief moment I wondered if it meant the weapon/item was considered a spell, meaning one would use INT+spell level to calculate related DCs, but that definitely isn't true.

This hack looked really cool to me at first, but the more I try to build off it the more it feels mediocre. You can't create analog weapons so Spellshot sniping isn't a thing, and when you get the hack at 5th level there aren't any weapons I'd rather have for five rounds than one 2nd level spell, or even a cast of MM tbh. I guess it's good if there's a specific damage type or effect you need?


Dispel magic is my guess.


d'Eon wrote:
Dispel magic is my guess.

So what you're suggesting is it's supposed to be a Spell-Like ability not a Supernatural one?


I think what he is saying is that you treat the effect as a spell of the level slot expended if you were to try to dispel it with dispel magic.


But you can't dispel it as written.

Liberty's Edge

Fabricate Tech has the same wording and is an (Sp) ability. My assumption is that Fabricate Arms is also meant to be an (Sp) ability and the misprint was missed in the edit. FAQ it, but I am sure it was meant to be an (Sp) ability, as shown above.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Fabricate Arms rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions