Cleave and Greater Cleave


Rules Questions


Can a fighter who has 2 attacks use the
greater cleave or cleave back to back?

Or is it a one shot deal that burns up his 2 attacks?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Do you mean a fighter who has two attacks from a 6+ BAB, or from Two Weapon Fighting, or from some other method ?

Let's look at the "Actions in Combat" section of the CRB.
"Multiple Attacks
A character who can make more than one attack per round must use the full-attack action (see Full-Round Actions) in order to get more than one attack."

Let's look at Cleave:
"As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach."

So, if your fighter uses cleave, he's used his standard action and does not have a full-attack action to get more than one attack. If your fighter uses a full-attack action to get his two attacks, that is not a standard action cleave attack, but a simple attack.


Phast wrote:

Can a fighter who has 2 attacks use the

greater cleave or cleave back to back?

Or is it a one shot deal that burns up his 2 attacks?

If memory serves, cleave is a standard action right?


Cleave is a standard action. You only cleave once. Unless you have more than one standard action somehow.

In general, extra iterative attacks only apply to full attack actions, which are full-round actions.

Edit: DYAC


Thank you

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleave and Greater Cleave All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.