Spell Focus (Conjuration) + Thorn Javelin


Rules Questions


I am starting a Leshy Warden in a new campaign, and have decided to go the route of a conjurer. At first level I have access to the Plant domain and have selected Thorns as my subdomain.

At first level, the thorn subdomain offers the spell Thorn Javalin. It is a conjuration spell that
As it turns out, summons a javelin that is also a thorn. Under saving throw it says "none." However, in the discription it says there is a fort save to become sickened.

My question is would the spell focus conjuration feat apply to the sickened effect on a hit?


I think it is "Saving throw: none" because your enemies don't make a saving throw to resist you Conjuring the javelin. Whether or not Spell Focus applies is iffy, but I'd say no on the same basis that it wouldn't increase the DC of any creature you Conjurd either.


So, say I cast Storm of Vengeance.
Would spells Focus Conjuration not effect those saves either? Do you create the storm? Or are you calling it into existence from some other place.

Summoning creatures seems different because they already exist, you are just calling them from a different place.

I just think Spell focus Conjuration has little use other than a prerequisite for other feats.


Also, there is not static saving throw for Thorn Javalin. It just says Fort save, implying 10 + spell level + wisdom. So wouldn't that also imply a +1 from spell focus as well?


SpaceRobotFive wrote:

So, say I cast Storm of Vengeance.

Would spells Focus Conjuration not effect those saves either? Do you create the storm? Or are you calling it into existence from some other place.

Summoning creatures seems different because they already exist, you are just calling them from a different place.

I just think Spell focus Conjuration has little use other than a prerequisite for other feats.

Both the Javelin and the Storm are effect spells. The javelin is created "out of nowhere" (School conjuration (creation)) while the Storm of Vengeance is summoned to the material plane (School conjuration (summoning)) from somewhere else (probably the Plane of Air or an associated demiplane)

Both spells will be affected by the Spell Focus: Conjuration. The javelin states it has no saving throw because the effect itself is the javeline created, not what you do with it, and same happens with the storm. The effect is the storm you invoke from another plane

Still, both the javelin and storm are conjured, and since neither of them have a static value to their saving throws (unlike summoned monsters, for example, that have specific DC's tied to their attacks), their DC will be determined by their caster.


Yorien wrote:
SpaceRobotFive wrote:

So, say I cast Storm of Vengeance.

Would spells Focus Conjuration not effect those saves either? Do you create the storm? Or are you calling it into existence from some other place.

Summoning creatures seems different because they already exist, you are just calling them from a different place.

I just think Spell focus Conjuration has little use other than a prerequisite for other feats.

Both the Javelin and the Storm are effect spells. The javelin is created "out of nowhere" (School conjuration (creation)) while the Storm of Vengeance is summoned to the material plane (School conjuration (summoning)) from somewhere else (probably the Plane of Air or an associated demiplane)

Both spells will be affected by the Spell Focus: Conjuration. The javelin states it has no saving throw because the effect itself is the javeline created, not what you do with it, and same happens with the storm. The effect is the storm you invoke from another plane

Still, both the javelin and storm are conjured, and since neither of them have a static value to their saving throws (unlike summoned monsters, for example, that have specific DC's tied to their attacks), their DC will be determined by their caster.

I concur. Anything that runs off of the DC of the spell you cast (as opposed to some other DC) treats that DC as adjusted by Spell Focus.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Focus (Conjuration) + Thorn Javelin All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions