Need clarification about Serenity spell


Rules Questions


It can be a stupid question, but I dont understand a little thing about Serenity spell.

Second sentence of the description states:

Quote:
Those attempting to commit violence become stricken with wracking pain and take 3d6 points of nonlethal damage each round they attempt to harm another creature.

My doubt is, if a creature afected by this spell tries a violent action (for example a bite) against another creature, it successfully makes the attack AND get the 3d6 of nonlethal damage, or it gets the 3d6 of nonlethal damage only (because being in pain impedes the normal attack)?


Nothing states that the attack is negated, only that the attacker is punished for it. So, you can call this spell Spike's chip field.


blahpers wrote:
Nothing states that the attack is negated, only that the attacker is punished for it. So, you can call this spell Spike's chip field.

I assumed the "wracking pain" part was synonim of negated attack. My fault then. Thanks :)


No, attacks are not negated, just punished.

(One of the spells to avoid. It is mindaffecting, a compulsion, save negates completely, and finally it is non-lethal damage, which several monster types don't take.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Need clarification about Serenity spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions