Season of Plundered Tomb adv 3-4A


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

Dark Archive 5/5 *** Regional Venture-Coordinator, Gulf

So this appears in the 3-4A text:
"At the start of your turn, you may recharge from your hand or bury from your discard pile any number of cards that have the Divine trait, then roll 1d6. If the result is less than the total number of cards that have the Divine trait in your hand and discard pile, summon and encounter the henchman Pure Legion Enforcer."

Summoned henchman doesn't let you close. It seems to be silly.

Why would you want to do this? Even for cycling your hands it's seems weird.

Lone Shark Games

Intent is that you always roll 1d6 and possibly summon.

The optional part is hiding your Divine cards from the Pure Legion first, so they don't confront your felonious lack of atheism.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I will have to check with Keith, but I believe the intent is that you roll the d6 whether or not you recharge or bury any cards.

Which is to say, at the start of your turn, if you have a bunch of Divine cards in your hand or discard pile and you don't get rid of them, you're probably going to have to fight the Enforcer.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Err.. consider that a successful check with Keith.

Dark Archive 5/5 *** Regional Venture-Coordinator, Gulf

Wow! That's service! I will see you all at Gencon.

I parsed it differently. Maybe this is FAQ worthy?


I believe Vic has mentioned before that FAQs are often not issued for PFSACG scenarios because they can just change the text. The issue is that _we_ don't know when the text changes are mechanical even if we watched the updated date on the scenarios in our downloads folder.

Dark Archive 5/5 *** Regional Venture-Coordinator, Gulf

Since the Pure Legion has a diplomacy check to defeat, it seems that they don't do much if they catch you anyway!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Failing a check to defeat a monster deals Combat damage to you equal to how much you failed by, even if the check to defeat is not a Combat check. Similarly, failing a combat check against a barrier does not deal any combat damage to you as a result of failing the check to defeat (although the barrier may send some damage your way as part of an "if undefeated" clause).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

zeroth_hour2 wrote:

I believe Vic has mentioned before that FAQs are often not issued for PFSACG scenarios because they can just change the text. The issue is that _we_ don't know when the text changes are mechanical even if we watched the updated date on the scenarios in our downloads folder.

When we update a PDF, we send an email to everyone who has access to it describing what has changed.

1/5 *

Vic Wertz wrote:
When we update a PDF, we send an email to everyone who has access to it describing what has changed.

Note that this is an option you can disable, if you're like me and you have a bazillion PDFs in the system from everyone imaginable.

(My solution is to just check once a month.)


skizzerz wrote:
Failing a check to defeat a monster deals Combat damage to you equal to how much you failed by, even if the check to defeat is not a Combat check.

Huh, looks like we played that wrong all along?

We always played that failing a Combat check results in Combat damage, even if the check is not a check to defeat a monster.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
MM rulebook, p12 wrote:
Take Damage, If Necessary. If you fail a check to defeat a monster, it deals an amount of damage to you equal to the difference between the difficulty to defeat the monster and your check result. Unless the card specifies otherwise, this damage is Combat damage.

The type of check is irrelevant, all that matters is monster or not-monster. If monster, you take damage as an intrinsic part of attempting the check should you fail. If not a monster (such as a combat check against a barrier or an ally), you do not take damage as an intrinsic part of attempting the check should you fail. This damage is combat damage unless specified otherwise (for example, Siren specifies that the damage is Mental damage that may not be reduced).

Now you know :)


We parsed it incorrectly during our play through as well, reading it as optional. I think the confusion comes from having that may right up front.

"At the start of your turn, roll 1d6. If the result is less than the total number of cards that have the Divine trait in your hand and discard pile, summon and encounter the henchman Pure Legion Enforcer. Before the roll, you may recharge from your hand or bury from your discard pile any number of cards that have the Divine trait."

or

"At the start of your turn, roll 1d6, before the roll you may recharge from your hand or bury from your discard pile any number of cards that have the Divine trait. If the result of the roll is less than the total number of cards that have the Divine trait in your hand and discard pile, summon and encounter the henchman Pure Legion Enforcer."

I know the order of things written is more clear in the original text, but I think either of those two options make it clearer that the 1d6 roll is mandatory and the recharge/bury is an optional way of helping to dodge the fight.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Season of Plundered Tomb adv 3-4A All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society