A problem while using the Projectionist archetype.


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I've been playing a projectionist mesmerist from Psychic Anthology.I got lv.8 today and found that the Implant Consciousness ability becomes confusing.
At first, the ability says "Once he stops concentrating on maintaining the enter image effect, his consciousness returns to his body and he cannot fill the target with his consciousness again" we believed it means I have to use a standard action to maintain concentration on the ability each round as the Enter Image spell.
But the ability also says "At 8th level, he can also use any purely mental action (including casting psychic spells) while filling an object with his consciousness." So how could I cast another spell while concentrating on Enter Image?not to speak of I have to use my standard action to maintain the effect.
So how could I deal with the ability?
1.Maintain the concentration with standard action each round, and cast spells with move or swift action.
2.Maintain the concentration ,maybe with free action, and cast spells normally.
3.Something is wrong with the lv.8 ability and I can't cast any spells while concentrating on the ability.


I am also playing a mesmerist projectionist, and have realized this same problem. Is the 8th level ability actually useless because of the standard action used to maintain concentration?


Echoen wrote:
I am also playing a mesmerist projectionist, and have realized this same problem. Is the 8th level ability actually useless because of the standard action used to maintain concentration?

I have found additional clarification from Pathfinder Society Organized Play, which while not official errata, injects a bunch of language not in the description:

https://paizo.com/pathfinderSociety/clarifications

Page 18—If a projectionist mesmerist is inhabiting an object and that object is destroyed, the mesmerist is immediately shunted back to his body. The implant consciousness ability's 8th level improvement extends the duration of the implanted consciousness from concentration to concentration + 1 round, allowing the mesmerist to cast spells during that additional round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A problem while using the Projectionist archetype. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions