Bane, Heretical and Treasonous?


Rules Questions


Now I didnt even know the last two even existed before, but I sure do now, and after searching cant find the answer so I'll ask here: Do these Weapon Enchantments stack or do they not?

On one hand all previous discussions like this seem to be limited to try to stack Bane multiple times on a target, but in this case these are three separate abilities with three different triggers (even though they all have the same kind of bonus +2 Enchantment, +2d6 damage; all Untyped).

So is it a useless combination or is does it utter wreck some poor saps day?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

"Why yes bought the Human bane Chellish seeking Asmodian slaying dagger and I dare say that its your fault for being such a stereotype that we find ourselves in this situation Mr. Hellknight "


Why would you do that? Fervent and patriotic weapons both require you to be a member of the religion and nation in question. Heretical/Treasonous only work against the religion and nation you belong to. If you wanted to betray your country, maybe useful for Hell's Rebels or something.

I would say that no, they don't stack. Smite Evil and Smite Chaos are 2 different abilities although exactly the same except in application of target. Like with Bane, these enhancements that you bring up would likely NOT be eligible to stack with Bane or each other.

Then again, Holy and Bane-Evil outsider stack, so who knows.


So I take it there is no such 'official' answer is there?

Edit: I also agree that the inclusion of the Fervent and Patriotic parts in those abilities as mindbogglingly silly, and wonder if that's why no one else has bothered to ask this question.


As a general rule, untyped bonuses stack. Lacking a rule stating that the various sources you mention don't stack, they stack.


You're unlikely to get an 'official' answer. I'd say, personally, that they do not stack.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Azten wrote:
You're unlikely to get an 'official' answer. I'd say, personally, that they do not stack.

Since they're all separate source untyped bonuses and therefore follow the general rules since they do not say they don't, these bonuses stack. To say they don't stack is purely GM fiat.


And GM Fiat isn't an official answer, so... like I said, he's unlikely to get one.


Rules-wise these boni are all untyped, thus they stack if wielded against a target that triggers more of them simultaneously.

Balance-wise this is very, VERY specific at least +6 weapon, that is for other purposes just a very expensive +1 weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bane, Heretical and Treasonous? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions