Cogsnap and drawing potions items


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Two questions regarding his ability to draw after killing a monster. If he draws a potion from the box, is it just the first random alchemical/liquid item he comes across? That is, does it matter if it is elite or a higher level potion? His advance ability implies basic items, so we aren't sure about potions.

I ask because of his advanced ability. It says if he defeats constructs or barriers he may draw an item. However, if leveled up it says non-basic. This implies that the item he has to draw is basic. It seems like a lot of upgrades to spend just to be able to draw a non-basic item.

All in all the bodger role was very confusing for us.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

When you are instructed to draw a card from the box of a specific type, you draw cards from the box until you find one with that type. So, yes, it is the first random alchemical or liquid item he comes across. That item may be Basic, it may be Elite, or it may be neither. All that matters is that it is the first one.

The non-Basic upgrade does not imply you have to draw a Basic item the first time around. Cards Do What They Say and Cards Don't Do What They Don't Say. Don't read between lines and invent restrictions that do not exist. The upgrade simply guarantees the item you get will not be Basic, whereas before it has a chance of being Basic depending on your luck.


Thanks for the quick reply. We're super rusty at the game. Follow on question...clockwork spy revealing It lets you examine the top card of the deck then explore. Can you then explore again as your action. We get that cards do what they say, but this seems super powerful if cogsnap can reveal it every turn, look at card and explore (per the clockwork spy)..then use his action to explore again. Two explores a turn is super good if that's the case. Thanks agin for responding.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You get one free explore per turn. It has to be your first exploration in the turn. You can use your free explore and then use Clockwork Spy to explore again, but you cannot use Clockwork Spy first and then your free explore.

Side note: if you have questions with particular cards or powers it is helpful to fully quote the relevant bits of those cards or powers instead of summarizing them in your own words. The game has a lot of nuance in wording, and people helping you may not have access to those cards at the time they post (and as such are going purely off your summary).


vaporego wrote:
clockwork spy revealing It lets you examine the top card of the deck then explore. Can you then explore again as your action.

Skizzers answered your question, and the relevant rule is this:

Rulebook wrote:
You may explore your location once each turn without playing a card that allows you to explore; this must be your first exploration for the turn. You may never explore outside of your explore step.

In regards to what SKizzers said about proper terminology, note the bolded part above. So that's what prevents you play Clockwork Spy to its full benefit outside your Explore step at all (so - not before your free explore, or you must forfeit your free explore) - or, if you do, you'll only get top examine the top card, *without exploring* ("Ignore impossible instructions")

However, there are cards like Detect Evil ("Examine the top card of your deck; if it's a monster - you may *ENCOUNTER* it")

"Encounter" and 'explore' very often seem similar from a gameplay perspective, but they're separate things. SO if a card like Detect Evil let's you *encounter without exploring* - you may take advantage of it at pretty much anytime - before you Give a Card, before your Move Phase, after your Attempt to Close Location step, etc. - which gives you multiple potential advantages (for example, dealing with pesky cultists of Baphomet and Minotaurs, which tend to nasty stuff if it's your first *exploration* of the turn)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Cogsnap and drawing potions items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion