Control Water, Raise Water


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi all,

I was wondering if the Raise Water section of the spell creates water? So could you turn a small puddle into a larger body of water?

I found this thread

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2p9ht?Does-Control-Water-create-water

but it is 5 years old and they never seemed to agree on an answer. Has this issue been solved?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

LINKIFIED!

I certainly think so, but I've had people disagree with me on the matter before.

My thoughts from that other thread:

Ravingdork wrote:

It does not create water since that is not explicitly stated and it doesn't have the creation descriptor.

However, it's a still a transmutation effect. It clearly expands and reduces the mass of water, similarly to how shrink item can reduce a boulder to a pebble or enlarge person can make a man double in height. If all it did was move the water, it would read more like telekinesis or mage hand. But it doesn't. It specifically states that it increases the water's depth and floods surrounding areas. THIS WOULD NOT BE POSSIBLE IF IT DIDN'T GENERATE MORE WATER.

Remember, it's a SIXTH level spell. That makes it MORE POWERFUL than the likes of teleport, overland flight, magic jar, plane shift, awaken, raise freaking dead and true seeing.

It's a POWERFUL SPELL. It's MEANT to be.

Feel free to house rule it to the power of a 1st-level or 2nd-level spell in your own games if that seems like too much to you, but I really don't believe that it simply "moves water around."

It's nearly useless in an open field where the water will just rush out into the open, doing little more than getting everyone wet. But in an enclosed space or out at open sea? That's where it can get real fun. ;D

In five years my thoughts on the matter have not changed.


Thanks for linking for me. I was hoping it had been clarified in the 5 years since then.

I'm in agreement with you though, but I can see arguments either way with the way it's written.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Oh, it's come up a few times before...


Ravingdork wrote:

Oh, it's come up a few times before...

Haha Yep I found those. I think I'm going to chalk this up to. Ask my GM. Thanks for the help

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Control Water, Raise Water All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions