Prehensile Hair - Hex and Ratfolk Favored Class Bonus (Witch)


Rules Questions


Ok. So here is where my brain is caught in a loop. Gonna lay the foundation.

Ratfolk Favored Class Bonus
"Witch: Add +5 feet to the range of one hex with a range other than "touch.""

Hex - Prehensile Hair:
"Effect: The witch can instantly cause her hair (or even her eyebrows) to grow up to 10 feet long or to shrink to its normal length, and can manipulate her hair as if it were a limb with a Strength score equal to her Intelligence score. Her hair has reach 10 feet, and she can use it as a secondary natural attack that deals 1d3 points of damage (1d2 for a Small witch). Her hair can manipulate objects (but not weapons) as dexterously as a human hand.

The hair cannot be sundered or attacked as a separate creature. Pieces cut from the witch’s elongated hair shrink away to nothing. Using her hair does not harm the witch’s head or neck, even if she lifts something heavy with it. The witch can manipulate her hair a number of minutes each day equal to her level; these minutes do not need to be consecutive, but must be spent in 1-minute increments. A typical male witch with this hex can also manipulate his beard, moustache, or eyebrows."

So here is my question.

Prehensile Hair does not have a range of touch...really doesn't have a "range" (aside from range of motion with it as a body part) at all. Since this means it has a "range other than touch," does it qualify for the Racial Bonus.

If No? Is it due to Range vs Reach? If so, is a limb/body parts reach not limited by it's range?

If Yes? I'm happy, and have a further question. I'm gonna go down a rabbit hole.


Range is a game term:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/#TOC-Range

If you look at spells, they have an entry for "range." Witch hexes are not expressed with traditional range entries, which I think causes the confusion here. Instead, they typically say things like "a creature within 30 feet." Compare the language on Misfortune for example:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/witch/hexes-3rd-party-publishe rs/hexes/common-hexes/hex-misfortune-su/

If prehensile hair were a spell, it would have a range of "personal," meaning that it can only affect the witch herself (i.e. she can't cause another creature within a range of "touch" or "close" to grow creepy long hair instead).

The hair has a reach of 10' as per the hex, and the ratfolk favored class bonus does not change that. It could, however, allow a witch to misfortune somebody within 35' instead of 30'.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Prehensile Hair - Hex and Ratfolk Favored Class Bonus (Witch) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions