Summon monsters and dimensional anchor vs. banishment


Rules Questions


Hello, I play a conjuration wizard that summons monsters and have come across banishment. Does Summon monsters with dimensional anchor protect it vs banishment? If not, is there a way to protect it vs. it?


anyone?


unlikely;

Dimensional anchor specifically mentions several Core Rulebook spells as well as "similar spell-like abilities." Neither dismissal nor banishment were listed as methods of transportation prevented by dimensional anchor. Since it's also a Core Rulebook spell, it's tough to argue that dimensional anchor also prevents banishment from working.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I agree that it won't work. As an added reason, Dimensional Anchor specifically doesn't prevent summons from going home when the spells ends, so it would make sense that it also doesn't prevent them from being forced home.

In all honesty, I wouldn't really worry about it. If an enemy caster is willing to spend an action and a powerful spell to send your creature home, your creature did its job.

Just be glad they used this spell instead of control summoned monster.


is there a way to defend it?


I wouldn't worry about it that much.

Just summon another one.

It's a safe bet you have more summoning spells available than they have Banishments prepared.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon monsters and dimensional anchor vs. banishment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.