Living Grimoire's Bonded Book


Rules Questions


Does the Living Grimoire archetype's Holy Book feature work similarly to a Wizard's Bonded Item for enchanting as a Magic Weapon, treating the Inquisitor as having the relevant Item Creation feats, or is it just clarifying that since it is being treated as -not- an improvised weapon it is just capable of being enchanted? Additionally, does counting as a Cold Iron Light Mace also mean that it costs more to enchant, per Cold Iron weapons?

Spoiler:

At 1st (level, a living grimoire forms a supernatural bond with a large ironbound tome containing the holy text of his deity and learns to use it as a weapon.

When wielding the holy book as a weapon, he deals base damage as if it were a cold iron light mace (but see Sacred Word below), is considered proficient with the book, takes no improvised weapon penalty, and gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls with the book. The tome serves as his holy symbol and divine focus, and can be enchanted as a magic weapon.

He can replace his bonded tome with another book at any time, though he must perform a 24-hour binding ritual to attune himself to the new book.

Sovereign Court

It doesn't say anywhere that it works live a wizard's bonded item.

I think it needs this rule because it's very unclear if you can otherwise enchant improvised weapons.

I'd guess it does cost more because it's actually made out of cold iron. (At least the hard cover that you're enchanting to hit people with. If it were about papercuts it'd be slashing damage.)


When I read the name of the archetype I was expecting an inquisitor equivalent to the tattooed sorcerer/tattooed monk e.g. un/holy scripture tattooed, branded or scarred onto their flesh. What we got was certainly interesting but a little disappointing.

Sovereign Court

Decimus Drake wrote:
When I read the name of the archetype I was expecting an inquisitor equivalent to the tattooed sorcerer/tattooed monk e.g. un/holy scripture tattooed, branded or scarred onto their flesh. What we got was certainly interesting but a little disappointing.

That would have been really nice, and would indeed fit the name much better. I still like the current one, but yeah.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I would say that it only deals damage as if it was a cold iron mace, but is not otherwise like a cold iron mace. IF (and it's not certain) it can be further enchanted, I wouldn't treat it as a cold iron mace for that calculation.


Starfinder Superscriber

From my reading you do not get the item creation feats, it's just allowed to be a weapon and enchanted as such. However, I will agree with SlimGauge there, I wouldn't treat it as a cold iron item for calculating enchanting costs.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Living Grimoire's Bonded Book All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions