
Urgnok |

Here's the situation, my group is playing the "Wrath of the Righteous" campaign and all our characters are mythic. One of the characters has the mythic path abilities 'cage enemy" and "retributive reach". A flying monster dropped to the square adjacent to the character and made a fly check to hover once within melee range. Given these circumstances, does the act of falling through the characters threatened squares provoke an attack of opportunity? And if not, what is to stop someone from exploiting that mechanic in order to avoid ever taking an attack of opportunity?

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |

It is unclear whether falling ever provokes. I'll assume for this thread that it does in general. In that case, the fact that it hovers at the end of its movement doesn't retroactively prevent the provocation from falling through threatened squares, if I understand the situation correctly.

dragonhunterq |

It is hotly disputed but I hold the general principle writ large throughout the rules that forced movement doesn't provoke.
Yes, this can lead to odd situations where if you fall off of a cliff because you failed a skill check you don't provoke, if you try to fall down to get additional momentum to attack or just try to squish someone you do provoke. I accept that inconsistency - it is far from the worst example - mostly to avoid people trying to exploit that mechanic.