
Shiro_Yuusha |
I'm playing a game with friends and a couple people seem to think that when a card says to add a skill to a check, it means to add the modifier,not an extra die for that skill, IE: Noxious Bomb- you may additionally discard a card to add your craft skill. So if Craft was Int+1, you'd be getting that +1 instead of your Int+1
Also, during a game of Mummy's Mask, we encountered lightning storm, it lingered, when we closed the location it was at, should it have been banished?

![]() |

I'm playing a game with friends and a couple people seem to think that when a card says to add a skill to a check, it means to add the modifier,not an extra die for that skill, IE: Noxious Bomb- you may additionally discard a card to add your Craft skill. So if Craft was Int+1, you'd be getting that +1 instead of your Int+1
Nope. You get the die, too. This does NOT, however, allow you to use effects involving the added skill (or its derived skill, if any). In your example, if you're playing Damiel from the Skull & Shackles set, he has a Craft (with no skill feats) of Intelligence (d10) + 3. If he hurls a Noxious Bomb, he gets his Dexterity or Ranged (d8+3) + 2d6. He can then discard another card to add his d10+3 Craft. HOWEVER, he can't use cards that affect Craft or Intelligence checks (for example, you couldn't play a Carver to add d10 to a Craft check, because this is NOT a Craft check. It's still a Dexterity and/or Ranged Check that happens to have a bonus equal to your Craft.
Also, during a game of Mummy's Mask, we encountered lightning storm, it lingered, when we closed the location it was at, should it have been banished?
Nope. The relevant rule is, "Cards don't do what they don't say." The Lightning Storm will happily sit at a closed location. If you start your turn at that closed location, it'll zork you and move on (or go away, if you get a lucky roll). Our second-favorite outcome is for the Lightning Storm to land on an abandoned closed location so it'll just sit there until the end of the game.

elcoderdude |

Seconding James. See the Mummy's Mask rulebook:
RULES: SKILLS, DICE, AND MODIFIERS
If your character card says “Strength d10,” and the “+1” box next to that has been checked, your Strength skill is d10+1, and your Strength die is d10. (The “+1” is called a “modifier.”) If your character card also says “Melee: Strength +3,” your Melee skill is d10+4, your Melee die is d10, and the Melee modifier is +4.
Skill clearly refers to both the die and the modifier, together.
(James goes into the technical detail that adding a skill to a check does not add the skill as a trait.)