| Phformian |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Hi everyone. I spent some time searching the forums but couldn't find anything definitive, and anything I did find was pretty old, so here goes:
If a character has taken Spell Specialization (Ultimate Magic) multiple times, does taking Greater Spell Specialization (also UM) once allow them to spontaneously cast any of their specialized spells?
Thanks in advance.
| .seth |
spell specialization says specifically that you can take it multiple times. its odd that the wording on the greater version doesn't account for that. it should say something like "choose one of your specialized spells" or "can be taken multiple time, each applies to a different one of your specialized spells" if it means to only work on one of them. it should say "this works for all of your specialized spells" if it means to apply to them all. i agree this needs to be clarified with errata or a faq.
there are two kinds of rules sets, those that allow everything except those things which are forbidden by the rules, and those that disallow everything except those things for which permission is given by the rules. pathfinder is that second kind, so unless a rule specifically says you can do X, you can't do X.
since it doesn't specifically say that it works with all the different specialized spells, i think rules as intended is to pick just one it applies to like a fighter's weapon specialization. in a home game i would absolutely let you apply it to them all as a cool laid back guy not afraid of some power creep and mild exploits of rules as written, but i would not think you would get away with it in society games.
| Phformian |
spell specialization says specifically that you can take it multiple times. its odd that the wording on the greater version doesn't account for that. it should say something like "choose one of your specialized spells" or "can be taken multiple time, each applies to a different one of your specialized spells" if it means to only work on one of them. it should say "this works for all of your specialized spells" if it means to apply to them all. i agree this needs to be clarified with errata or a faq.
there are two kinds of rules sets, those that allow everything except those things which are forbidden by the rules, and those that disallow everything except those things for which permission is given by the rules. pathfinder is that second kind, so unless a rule specifically says you can do X, you can't do X.
since it doesn't specifically say that it works with all the different specialized spells, i think rules as intended is to pick just one it applies to like a fighter's weapon specialization. in a home game i would absolutely let you apply it to them all as a cool laid back guy not afraid of some power creep and mild exploits of rules as written, but i would not think you would get away with it in society games.
Thanks for the answer! That's a good explanation, especially the comparison to weapon specialization.
| Phformian |
The general consensus in past discussions has been that GSS applies to all Specialized Spells.
Otherwise... you can usually just take the Preferred Spell feat instead.
Good to know, thanks. Although I think I'm going to try to find a way to make my character work with just the one spontaneous spell. I'd rather not rely on a rule that's open to interpretation.