Questions concerning wild armor and shield enchanment


Rules Questions


Hello all,

I had a few questions regarding the wild ability:

wild

examples assume the character is in wild shape form.

1. A wild shield that is held when a character transforms does not count against any of the funky handedness rules? IE a wildshaped druid could still wield a two handed weapon?

2. Can wild armor and shields be targeted? For example, could either be the target of a sunder attempt? What if the enemy possesses true seeing, does that matter?

3. Conversely could wild armor and shields benefit from a buff spell such as magic vestments, or a class ability, for example sacred armor?

4. How do feats interact, such as shield focus?

I have some opinions but I'm curious if there are some obvious answers to these questions somewhere that I haven't found.

Thanks,


1) Assuming you were wild shaped into something that could wield weapons (elementals maybe, plants big maybe) yes.

2) No, they are absorbed into the form but still provide their AC bonus.

3) If you cast magic vestment before you wild shaped, yes. I would allow sacred armor because it explicitly stacks with existing armor bonuses.

4) Shield focus says increase the AC bonus by 1 when using the shield. If the shield has the wild ability, then you still get its AC bonus while wild shaped, so you would get the increase from shield focus.

Scarab Sages

1) Debatable. As the hands of effort rules aren't codified, and aren't fully clear, You'll likely have some table variation. Id say the shield didn't interfere, but thats just me. How are you going to keep your weapon from melding into you when you transform? The only archetype that doesn't absorb your weapon i know of also doesn't absorb your armor, so you'd get hit with with the shield anyway.

2) I would say yes. Its not stated expressly, but it implies that the items are not melded, only invisible. I would actually say they are not targetable, if for no other reason than they can't be seen. True seeing makes things a bit more complex. I am unsure hoe to rule here. I want to say that the armor is targetable.

3)These would apply normally to wild armor.

4)Feats such as sheild/armor focus should apply normally. Wild grants th armor/shield bonus of the item, with no restrictions on what that value can be.


burkoJames wrote:
How are you going to keep your weapon from melding into you when you transform?

Pretty simple. Free action to drop the weapon. Wild shape. Move action to pick it back up (assuming you have a form that can wield the weapon).

Alternately, have the weapon in a Polymorphic Pouch. Pull it out (with your hands that you would need) after you shape.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions concerning wild armor and shield enchanment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions