Is "You're dealt damage" on a monster being "dealt damage by a monster"?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So, the Quicksand Bunyup in the new blog reminded me of query we had a while back in WotR, in regards to Horn of Mists (prevents damage "dealt by monsters" and one of the henchmen (Derakni maybe?) which had a "everyone makes a check; if a character fails their check, they're dealt X damage" power.

If a power on a monster instructs you that you're being dealt damage (as opposed to "Monster X deals Y damage to you"), are you being "dealt damage by a monster"?


I'd say, if you take damage due to a monster's power, or failing a check to defeat against a monster, either way the monster has dealt damage to you.

RotR is a poor precedent for this, because it has monsters which dealt BYA damage, and whose damage was dealt to every character at the location, when it was clear the BYA damage was not meant to apply to every character at the location. (Hence the FAQ)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Longshot11 wrote:
If a power on a monster instructs you that you're being dealt damage (as opposed to "Monster X deals Y damage to you"), are you being "dealt damage by a monster"?

Yes.


Thanks for the speedy reply!


By the same token, if a monster forces you to make a check (some knowledge checks in wrath lower the difficulty of the check to defeat), is it a check against a monster?
I ruled it is, but I'm not so sure now.


Doppelschwert wrote:

By the same token, if a monster forces you to make a check (some knowledge checks in wrath lower the difficulty of the check to defeat), is it a check against a monster?

I ruled it is, but I'm not so sure now.

Yes, it is. I believe it was even in the WOtR Rulebook, or the FAQ. Each check that is called for by a power on a monster card (or barrier, or boon, etc) is 'check against this card'. This is how it differs for "a check TO DEFEAT a monster".

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Rulebook wrote:
If a card refers to a check against another card, that refers to any check required by that card, whether it’s a check to defeat, a check to acquire, a check to recharge, or any other check.


Thanks for the quick answer!
I'll make sure to carefully read the MM manual once it's out to be up to date (looks like I forgot about some parts of WotR).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Is "You're dealt damage" on a monster being "dealt damage by a monster"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion