Is recharging a spell playing the card?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Silver Crusade

MM Alahazra has the power "When you play a card that has the Fire ([] or Poison) and Attack traits on any check, add 1d8." My question is, does this apply to her check to recharge? My gut says no, but it IS a separate power on the card. Given recent discussion on the definition of "playing," it seemed somewhat nebulous. Thoughts?

Grand Lodge

Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
MM Alahazra has the power "When you play a card that has the Fire ([] or Poison) and Attack traits on any check, add 1d8." My question is, does this apply to her check to recharge? My gut says no, but it IS a separate power on the card. Given recent discussion on the definition of "playing," it seemed somewhat nebulous. Thoughts?

Playing a card means using a power on that card by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card or by performing another action specified by that card. Activating a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it.

So by that definition, the recharge check is not part of playing a card. The actual discarding of the spell to activate a power would be playing it, not the recharge check associated with the activation.


Nice try, Eliandra, but I'm with Theryon. You discarded(or perhaps buried) the card to use power on the card; the recharge attempt is just altering the final disposition of the card due to using that power.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Is recharging a spell playing the card? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion