Swift action casting and concentration checks


Rules Questions


When you swift action cast as say, a Warpriest, and get entangled do you have to make a concentration check for all your swift action casts?

Entangled : An entangled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 15 + spell level) or lose the spell.

Grand Lodge

Yes. Swift actions don't require concentration to cast defensively, but still require checks for other distractions.


The rule you quoted doesn't specify which kind of spells it applies to, so it applies to all of them, regardless of the type of action it takes to cast them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swift action casting and concentration checks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions