alter self for non-humanoids


Rules Questions


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

alter self seems to assume that the caster is a humanoid, otherwise it would be called "humanoid shape" or something.

does alter self work the same regardless of the caster's creature type?

Silver Crusade Contributor

Yes. I suspect that it's called that* because the rules are written with humanoid PCs in mind - having a dragon in-world refer to it as form of the humanoid would be interesting, though. ^_^

*It's also one of the spells inherited from third edition D&D, so the name is a legacy of a world without the polymorph subtype.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / alter self for non-humanoids All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions