Bouncing Dispel Magic


Rules Questions


I had a thought today, wondering how (and if) bouncing interacts with dispel magic's targeted dispel option.

Targeted Dispel:
Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.

Bouncing Metamagic:
Whenever a bouncing spell targeting a single creature has no effect on its intended target (whether due to spell resistance or a successful saving throw) you may, as a swift action, redirect it to target another eligible creature within range. The redirected spell behaves in all ways as if its new target were the original target for the spell. Spells that affect a target in any way (including a lesser effect from a successful saving throw) may not be redirected in this manner.

So the important question to answer is: do you think the "due to spell resistance or a successful saving throw" is rules text or just a short list of examples? Dispel doesn't allow SR or a save however it can still fail to have an effect if

#1 The target had no spells on it or
#2 If you roll low on the CL check and fail to dispel every magical affect on the target.

If you think the spell bounces, do you get to reroll the CL check on the second target?


I don't think the spell bounces , but a minority might find it ambiguous and let it happen.


I am also going to say that raw the dispel doesn't bounce. The language in bouncing calls out two reasons spells that can fail are allowed to bounce. The creators probably didn't want to leave it ambiguous.


I will also side with the reading that the listed options (SR or successful save:negates) are read as the conditions for bouncing. Otherwise they would have added 'etc.' or some other indicator.

If they had intended all such situations, then spells that target illegal creatures, like charm person on a dog could be bounced or a targeted fire spell that hits a red dragon, or a creature with fire immunity, or even hits a creature with just resistance but you roll low on damage and don't exceed it.

A creature with mind blank would not be affected by a [mind-effecting] spell and it won't bounce, a creature with spell turning could also be unaffected by a bouncing spell and not allow you to target a new creature. A creature protected with spell immunity however... would seem to allow you to bounce your spell.


Pizza Lord wrote:


A creature with mind blank would not be affected by a [mind-effecting] spell and it won't bounce,

PF Mind Blank has never given total immunity to mind affecting. Did you mean divination?


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Pizza Lord wrote:


A creature with mind blank would not be affected by a [mind-effecting] spell and it won't bounce,
PF Mind Blank has never given total immunity to mind affecting. Did you mean divination?

Yes, I was thinking 3.5. A scrying spell would be the example.


Both listed reasons boil down to the magic failed to reach the target.
SR means it cannot come close enough to effect, and save means that the intended target wasn't there to receive the spells effect.

I would rule that the dispel check is the spell having it's intended effect, with a success allowing the spell to strip the other spell. Failing the CL check is not a qualification for bouncing.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bouncing Dispel Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions