Windy Escape = Immediate Action = AoO?


Rules Questions


Most of the posts I've seen on Windy Escape come from 2012 to 2014, and state that since the spell is an immediate action it does not provoke an attack of opportunity. However, when I read on spell casting and AoO, it says spells that require only a free action do not provoke.

So, it would seem to me that casting this spell to avoid taking damage would in fact invite free hits from in-range attackers. I don't think that is the intention, but is that the way it works out?

Dark Archive

An immediate action though is an action that interrupts and stops all other actions until the immediate action is finished, an AoO is an immediate action but you can not have immediate actions interrupting immediate actions. Otherwise we plunge into chaos. lol. as that is how i understand it at least. I do not have any specific rules on hand to back me up just my understanding of how i think it works.


"Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity."

It doesn't spell it out in so many words, but it basically strongly implies, at least, that an immediate action would be the same. The text for immediate actions seems to say that immediate actions are just like swifts, except they can be used outside of your turn.

If you look at the attack of opportunity chart, the immediate action group only has one example, casting feather fall, which it says does not provoke.


Spells which are cast as an Immediate Action function identical to Swift Actions, except they can be taken outside your turn. Spells which are cast as a Swift Action do not provoke, meaning by the transitive property, Immediate Actions do not provoke.

Scarab Sages

"Cast a Quickened Spell

You can cast a quickened spell (see the Quicken Spell metamagic feat), or any spell whose casting time is designated as a free or swift action, as a swift action. Only one such spell can be cast in any round, and such spells don't count toward your normal limit of one spell per round. Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity."

An immediate action is a swift action you can take off of your turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Windy Escape = Immediate Action = AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions