Lunar Oracle Revelation (Gift of Claw and Horn) with the Hunger Curse


Rules Questions


I have some questions about how these two interact. The Hunger Curse's bite is pretty weak, being a secondary attack and all. Fortunately, Gift of Claw and Horn can give you a primary bite attack.

From what I've read in old threads, when you have two overlapping natural attacks you choose the best one of the two to function. I know they don't stack. I'm assuming the primary attack granted by Gift of Claw and Horn would count as the superior of the two.

Would the Hunger Curse's effects apply to the bite given by the aforementioned revelation?

Quote:

Hunger

Source PCS:ISMC

Ravenous hunger wracks your body in stressful situations. You gain none of the benefits from spells or magic items that provide nourishment, such as goodberry, heroes' feast, or a ring of sustenance. You also gain a bite attack that deals an amount of piercing damage appropriate for your size (1d8 for a Large creature, 1d6 for Medium, 1d4 for Small) as a secondary natural attack. You begin each combat with the sickened condition until you deal damage with your bite attack.

Effect

At 5th level, you gain the grab monster special ability on bite attacks against creatures smaller than yourself.

At 10th level, your bite attack deals damage as if you were one size category larger.

At 15th level, you gain the blood drain monster special ability with your bite, dealing 1d2 points of Constitution damage at the end of a turn if you grapple a foe.

Quote:
Gift of Claw and Horn (Su): As a swift action, you gain a natural weapon. The natural weapon lasts for a number of rounds equal to half your oracle level (minimum 1). You must choose a bite, claw, or gore attack. These attacks deal the normal damage for a creature of your size. At 5th level, your natural weapon gains a +1 enhancement bonus. This bonus increases by +1 at 10th, 15th, and 20th level. At 11th level, you gain two natural weapons at a time. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier.

Would the bite from the revelation gain grab, increased damage (one size), and the blood drain ability or would those abilities be locked into the curse's bite? It looks like it would work to me.


You're able to deliver differently powered bites, think of it as a choice of how much damage you choose to deal.


So the curse's abilities don't apply to the revelation's bite? Dang.

Well, would I be able to use the revelation's bite to stop the sickened effect? Trying to hit with a -7 (secondary nat attack + sickened) is really hard.


They do apply, to all bites you do, that includes any bite you do while shapeshifted.


Oh, okay. Sorry, I misread your post. Thank you!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lunar Oracle Revelation (Gift of Claw and Horn) with the Hunger Curse All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions