Quick question regarding Aboleth Slime


Rules Questions


I'm wondering how the Aboleth Slime Special Ability interacts with multiple tentacle attacks. Is the effect a "one-and-done" type thing, or can it stack?

The text reads as follows:

Bestiary, p. 8 wrote:
A creature hit by an aboleth's tentacle must succeed on a DC 20 Fortitude save or his skin and flesh transform into a clear, slimy membrane over the course of 1d4 rounds. The creature's new “flesh” is soft and tender, reducing its Constitution score by 4 as long as it persists. If the creature's flesh isn't kept moist, it dries quickly and the victim takes 1d12 points of damage every 10 minutes. Remove disease and similar effects can restore an afflicted creature to normal, but immunity to disease offers no protection from this attack. The save DC is Constitution-based.

IE a creature is hit by two tentacles and fails both fortitude saves. Does he reduce his constitution by 4 or 8?


One and done.
It isn't a penalty as such, so normal stacking rules don't appear to apply. Usually transform effects only apply once though.
Kind of like flesh to stone, repeated effects won't make you any more stony, and this won't make you any more tender.


Okay, good. The sheer volume of illusions was a nightmare for the party already, stacking Slime would have killed them for sure. Thanks! :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick question regarding Aboleth Slime All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions