|
|
| 4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Is a magic item that is Pathfinder illegal but found on a Chronicle Sheet legal to purchase and use in PFS? The last comments from Developers and PFS I could find are here and here. Has anything changed since then? I couldn't find anything more recent on the forums.
The specific item I have in mind:
|
Usually if things are on the chronicle sheet, they are legal even if by the general rules they aren't.
The main exception to this are chronicles from season 0, which sometimes have items that are from the D&D 3.5 rules used back then. This mostly means items that had different slots back then, like Gauntlets of Ogre Strength, which became a Belt.
|
|
Sometimes, items on chronicles break the usual rules. After checking the SRD, there are no changes in rules from 3.5 to Pathfinder that would have caused your spoilered item to be any less legal. It has always been illegal to make potions of personal spells and the spell mentioned has always been personal.
As such, I would consider that item to be unique. I would hope that the chronicle appropriately limits the number purchased (I don't have the chronicle to verify), but it would seem to me that it's simply an item available for purchase for that character now.
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
John Compton commented about a specific item, but doesn't seem to make a blanket ruling about all items.
|
|
Michael Eshleman wrote:John Compton commented about a specific item, but doesn't seem to make a blanket ruling about all items.Going up a couple of posts, he does mention potions as well
It looks like John will be calling items out on a case-by-case basis, so I am going to FAQ my original post.