Big Cat's and multple grapples


Rules Questions


So at level 7 a Big cat companion gets the Grab special ability on all of it's attacks so it could theoretically have 3 attempts at grappling if all 3 attacks hit.

What happens if the first attack in the full-attack succeeds? Can the Cat continue attacking or does that end it's full attack?

For example the Cat attacks with bite, hits, attempts grapple and succeeds. Can it Make it's 2 claw attacks or does it need to stop?


I believe it can choose to not make a grab attempt. It can wait until its final attack to grab if it wants to. If it does choose to grapple with its first attack and succeeds, its full attack would end I think.


Grab (ex) wrote:
Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), [i]it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action[i] without provoking an attack of opportunity.

Well technically you don't have a choice it's just a thing that happens as there is no "may" in there.


Nothing stopping you grabbing and releasing as a free action. It is a brutal tactic for anything with a constrict effect and multiple attacks.


Right, i'm just wondering if by "Grabbing Normally" you occupy your claws and prevent yourself from attacking twice more with them

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Big Cat's and multple grapples All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.