Trap the Soul and Vampires


Rules Questions


Hello everyone!

I'm running an adventure path and there's a situation where a Trap the Soul is targeting the PCs. The question I have - would this spell affect the PC who is playing a vampire?

The rules I see as applicable (quotes from Paizo's SRD):

Undead Traits wrote:
Undead Traits (Ex) Undead are immune to death effects, disease, mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, phantasms, and patterns), paralysis, poison, sleep, stun, and any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects or is harmless). Undead are not subject to ability drain, energy drain, or nonlethal damage. Undead are immune to damage or penalties to their physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution), as well as to fatigue and exhaustion effects. Undead are not at risk of death from massive damage.
Trap the Soul wrote:

TRAP THE SOUL

School conjuration (summoning); Level sorcerer/wizard 8
Casting Time 1 standard action or see text
Components V, S, M (gem worth 1,000 gp per HD of the trapped creature)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature
Duration permanent; see text
Saving Throw see text; Spell Resistance yes; see text
Trap the soul forces a creature's life force (and its material body) into a gem. The gem holds the trapped entity indefinitely or until the gem is broken and the life force is released, which allows the material body to reform. If the trapped creature is a powerful creature from another plane, it can be required to perform a service immediately upon being freed. Otherwise, the creature can go free once the gem imprisoning it is broken.

Depending on the version selected, the spell can be triggered in one of two ways.

Spell Completion: First, the spell can be completed by speaking its final word as a standard action as if you were casting a regular spell at the subject. This allows spell resistance (if any) and a Will save to avoid the effect. If the creature's name is spoken as well, any spell resistance is ignored and the save DC increases by 2. If the save or spell resistance is successful, the gem shatters.

It looks to me like this does, indeed, apply to him but I wanted to make ABSOLUTELY sure before I go ahead with it because I don't want to make an incorrect ruling that kills off a character.


Magic Jar makes a mention of souls and the undead:

Magic Jar wrote:
Undead creatures are powered by negative energy. Only sentient undead creatures have, or are, souls

So, a vampire has a soul and I can't see anything that would prevent Trap the soul to work on one.


Blymurkla wrote:

Magic Jar makes a mention of souls and the undead:

Magic Jar wrote:
Undead creatures are powered by negative energy. Only sentient undead creatures have, or are, souls
So, a vampire has a soul and I can't see anything that would prevent Trap the soul to work on one.

Cool, thanks. That definitely helps reinforce what I thought. I appreciate the input.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Trap the Soul and Vampires All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.