Invoking and the Wand of Flame


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


At a Pathfinder Organized Play event yesterday, I was playing Grazzle. The item Wand of Flame came up, which has the Attack Trait. I had the power that says Grazzle has +2 on all checks that invoke the attack trait. Does the item invoke that trait, giving me a bonus on my check to recharge it?

FYI, I just played it that it did not because i did not really need it to recharge.


I don't have my copy of the Oracle Deck, yet, but if memory serves, "invoke" means, among other things, the check has or is against a card with that trait, thus you should get the bonus to acquire or recharge any card with the Attack trait.


Ashram is right. As Vic points out here, invokes is explained on the rules card that came with the Oracle deck:

Rules card wrote:

A check invokes a trait if it has or is against a card that has that trait.

A bane invokes a trait if it has that trait or deals only damage of the type that matches that trait.

So, yes, Grazzle gets +2 on the check to recharge the Wand of Flame.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Invoking and the Wand of Flame All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion