Channeled Ray and Ranged disarm.


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

This is actually more of a request for clarification on whether ranged touch attacks are treated as ranged weapons for the purposes of qualifying for Using ranged weapon feats. Such as above, can you use Channeled Ray to disarm?

This is not broken in any respect. I just thought it would be fun to have my channeled Ray cleric disarm opponents "In the name of Pharasma. Lay down your arms!" *skeleton's arms fall off*


Yes and (given Ranged Disarm) yes. You can even take Weapon Focus (ray) and Improved Critical (ray).

Silver Crusade

While the point you make does hold up the fact that one can use such feats together (Channel Ray, Ranged Disarm). I would however like more information on the argument between the difference of Ranged Touch and "Ray". Though now that i hav e had more time to think about it. Ranged Touch(spells, SLA, SU, etc,.) Would not likely be treated as weapons. Unless specifically called out in the Description of the Ranged Touch attack. Such as is with Kineticist's Blasts that hit Touch.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You cannot use ranged disarm with channel ray or any other spell that requires an action to cast. Ranged Disarm is a full round action so you cannot both use the ability and the feat in the same round due to action economy, and you cannot hold the charge on a ranged touch spell.


Bryce Kineman wrote:
I would however like more information on the argument between the difference of Ranged Touch and "Ray". Though now that i have had more time to think about it. Ranged Touch(spells, SLA, SU, etc,.) Would not likely be treated as weapons. Unless specifically called out in the Description of the Ranged Touch attack. Such as is with Kineticist's Blasts that hit Touch.

Mmm, all rays are ranged touch attacks, but I'm not finding anything that says which ranged touch attacks are rays. I suppose it may be only the ones explicitly labeled as such... can anyone do better than that?

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If the spell has Effect: Ray, it's a Ray. If it just says ranged touch or orb, it's not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channeled Ray and Ranged disarm. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.