
TarrentheShaded |

How does a missed attack roll work for a rocket launcher when aimed at a target creature?
If two characters are on a level playing field and one fired a rocket at the other and missed, would the rocket keep going for its range increment? Further? Would the rocket keep going until it hit a solid obstacle, or maybe another creature in line of fire?
What if the rocket is being fired at a target from above? Does the missed attack still detonate in a nearby square as per the splash weapon rules?
I don't think a rocket launcher is technically a splash weapon like alchemist's fire (certainly not a thrown one), but if it were to fall under the same rules, attack rolls on a target creature would seem pointless when firing from above. Per the splash weapon rules, a missed attack within a rocket launcher's range increment is more than enough to make up for the 1 square it missed the target by due to the 30ft radius explosion. Though I suppose the intended target would then be allowed a save for half damage.

OldSkoolRPG |

How does a missed attack roll work for a rocket launcher when aimed at a target creature?
If two characters are on a level playing field and one fired a rocket at the other and missed, would the rocket keep going for its range increment? Further? Would the rocket keep going until it hit a solid obstacle, or maybe another creature in line of fire?
What if the rocket is being fired at a target from above? Does the missed attack still detonate in a nearby square as per the splash weapon rules?
I don't think a rocket launcher is technically a splash weapon like alchemist's fire (certainly not a thrown one), but if it were to fall under the same rules, attack rolls on a target creature would seem pointless when firing from above. Missing within a rocket launcher's range increment is more than enough to make up for the 1 square it missed the target by due to the 30ft radius explosion. Though I suppose the intended target would then be allowed a save for half damage.
Since you are able to target a creature or a grid intersection and it makes reference to direct hits, both terms commonly used for splash weapons and alchemist bombs, I would say that it uses the splash weapons rule for misses.