Swashbuckler's and immediate actions


Rules Questions


So I'm considering playing a Swashbuckler, but I have a question. For the sake of simplicity, we will assume the character has enough panache to take the actions described. The character is assumed to have the feat Combat Reflexes and a Dex of 18.

Assume the character is standing at one end of a 30' long hallway, 15' wide.

There are three enemies evenly spaced with two on the left side and one on the right.

If the character walks down the middle of the hallway and decides to use the Deed: Opportune Parry and Riposte.

Assuming the Parry on each AoO successfully negates the enemy attack, would the character be able to use multiple immediate actions to attack (Riposte!) each enemy as he walks by them?

Or can a character take only one immediate action per turn?

Liberty's Edge

Only one Immediate Action per turn.

So, they can parry lots of attacks (assuming they have the panache) but only riposte once.


Yup, only one immediate action per turn. That's the limiting factor. There is nothing that I'm aware of that increases this restriction.


Thanks!

So it would be wiser (and more economical) to use Acrobatics to move through threatened areas first, and save the Deed for the last guy, get one free attack (Riposte!) and then use the remaining standard action to stab the last enemy again, right?


The thing is that an Immediate action is your Swift action from your next turn. So once you've used it, you don't have any more, because you're already used that swift action.

This is the weakness of the Swash, too many abilities that all compete for their Swift actions.

Liberty's Edge

Majik Mouf wrote:

Thanks!

So it would be wiser (and more economical) to use Acrobatics to move through threatened areas first, and save the Deed for the last guy, get one free attack (Riposte!) and then use the remaining standard action to stab the last enemy again, right?

That's a gamble in its own right, since if you don't successfully parry you won't get to riposte. But yeah, it's usually a better call.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbuckler's and immediate actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions