| Naal |
I would say that no touch attack roll is required.
The barbarian can still tell allies apart from enemies. She's just angry enough to repel magic. Otherwise the next step might be asking whether the caster provokes an attack of opportunity for casting next to the barbarian.
Barely related: It's funny that one character can make a whirlwind attack or a full attack with a spiked chain or heavy flail while another character behind him can paw him without a care in the world.
| Green Smashomancer |
The barbarian gains a +2 morale bonus on saving throws made to resist spells, supernatural abilities, and spell-like abilities. This bonus increases by +1 for every 4 levels the barbarian has attained. While raging, the barbarian cannot be a willing target of any spell and must make saving throws to resist all spells, even those cast by allies.
Only mentions saving throws here, I don't see attack rolls mentioned. For cure spells, there is still a will save, make it and heal half damage. Other than that? nope.
| Blakmane |
"While raging, the barbarian cannot be a willing target of any spell"
This is the bit that would be contentious.
Note that if the spell is willing target only, it cannot be used on the barb.
However, I can't find any text that would suggest an unwilling target is treated as an opponent or must be touched via an attack roll with a harmless touch spell that doesn't restrict to willing targets (say, mage armour). The closest is:
"You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell."
So I guess a barbarian can't be touched as part of a group of targets?
Given the ambigous wording of touch spells and attacks I might expect a GM to rule that they do require a touch attack, however. I can't find any precedent for it but it wouldn't be an unreasonable houserule.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Blakmane highlighted the part that has me questioning it.
In most every case, an Opponent is an unwilling target, and that's generally why an Attack Roll for a Touch Spell is required: Because they don't want to get hit by it.
The thing is, is the reason an Attack Roll is required is solely because he's an Opponent, or is it also because he's an unwilling target (and therefore you must roll in order to hit him with the spell)?
Diego Rossi
|
Superstition wrote:The barbarian gains a +2 morale bonus on saving throws made to resist spells, supernatural abilities, and spell-like abilities. This bonus increases by +1 for every 4 levels the barbarian has attained. While raging, the barbarian cannot be a willing target of any spell and must make saving throws to resist all spells, even those cast by allies.Only mentions saving throws here, I don't see attack rolls mentioned. For cure spells, there is still a will save, make it and heal half damage. Other than that? nope.
And he refuse teleportation and all other spells that require a willing target.
Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.
It say willing target, so the superstitious raging barbarian is out of luck.
@Blakmane "up to 6" includes "1", so the superstitious raging barbarian don't get an exemption just because he is a single target.The Combat section says this:
"You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll."
The magic chapter is a bit more restrictive. I think we should use the magic chaèter limitation.